Bratislava Economic Meeting 2014

Scholars from Slovak, Czech and international institutions are invited to present their unpublished research in all areas of economics - theoretical, empirical, experimental, institutional, or policy-oriented. The main objective of this meeting is to foster contacts and lasting academic cooperation among Slovak, Czech and international economists.

Young economists, graduate students and post-docs who wish to present their research and obtain feedback are particularly encouraged to apply.

Conference date: June 13-14, 2014. Registration and welcome reception will take place in the evening of June 12 in one of Bratislava’s iconic pubs.

Conference venue: Ekonomická univerzita v Bratislave (University of Economics), Dolnozemská 1.

Keynote speaker: We are pleased to announce that Professor Ján Zábojník from Queen’s University has agreed to deliver the keynote lecture.

Procedures: The conference language is English. There is no conference fee. Authors should submit their abstracts by e-mail to Please include your affiliation.

Financial Aid: Subsidized accommodation will be available for graduate students who cannot obtain sufficient financial support from their home institution. If you need travel funds, please send an e-mail to bratislavameeting2014@gmail.comby April 18, 2014. The final decisions will be announced by April 30.

Important dates: Submission deadline for papers: April 18, 2014.

Best Student Paper Award: Slovak Economic Association launches a Best Student Paper Award to reward high quality papers written by Slovak graduate students, studying at a domestic or foreign university. The paper has to be presented at the conference. If you wish to be considered for the award, please email a copy of your paper to In the subject of the email, please specify “Best Student Paper Award” and include your full name. The papers can be single-authored or co-authored with another graduate student.

Organized by: Virtual Scientific Laboratories, Slovak Economic Association and University of Economics in Bratislava

Supported by: Tatrabanka Foundation

Organizing committee:  Urban Kováč (VSL and Comenius University), Michal Radosa (VSL), Maroš Servátka (VSL and NZEEL University of Canterbury), and Radovan Vadovič (VSL and Carleton University)